Get earthquake and tsunami alerts. Signup now (FREE)

Hazard Classifications

There are three hazard classifications for dams in general.

  • Low Hazard (loss of life is unlikely and damage is limited);
  • Significant Hazard (small possibility of loss of life, damage causes property loss and/or interrupts use of public utilities or roads); and
  • High Hazard (loss of life is probable, serious damage to structures, important roads, public utilities or railroads).

Determining a Hazard due to Dam Breach The factors that must be considered in order to determine the hazard classification of a dam include, but are not limited to:

  • The population-at-risk;
  • Depth and velocity of flow against habitable buildings;
  • Depth and velocity of flow over roads;
  • Depth and velocity of flow in the presence of unprotected persons;
  • Isolation of a population from emergency services;
  • Damage to critical infrastructure;
  • Economic loss; and
  • Environmental damage.

For You and Your Loved Ones

With preparedness and safety measures, protect yourself and your family from earthquake risks.

Always good to prepare for an earthquake
Earthquake Warnings are a Game Changer
Stay protected, anytime, anywhere
Earthquake Alerts iOS free app